You’re ignoring Mom

And she's not easy to ignore...

In this re-run, I confused my poor Mom around T-bird time when I explained a few UV things to her….

It’s a few days after Thanksgiving, and the time I spent with my Mom over the holiday serves as my inspiration for today’s Digital Fool.  During the Martini-full holiday, I tried again to explain to her what I do for a living, and I discussed the many exciting things that are happening in entertainment and technology.

Not surprisingly, she had a rather blank look on her face, without even an inkling of understanding.

“Oh that’s nice, dear, good for you,” she commented, but her face said very clearly: “WTF is he talking about?  I mean really, who cares!  The stuff I get just works – put it in my car or DVD player or VHS, press the triangle button thingie and it goes!!”

She has a point.  Entertainment and technology have forgotten about my Mom and simple people – the mass consumers who are the lifeblood of  home entertainment.  My Mom may not be the sharpest tool in the shed, but she, and millions of others just like her, still buy a ton of CDs and DVDs each year as gifts for grandchildren and a few for themselves.  Let’s talk about some of the recent efforts to coax my Mom into the next generation of entertainment.

Some things are new, but…

Take Digital Copy or as it was once known, Second Session.  This is supposed to be a safe and easy solution for customers to get legitimate digital video and introduce them to a “digital lifestyle.”  Buy physical, and get a digital copy that is either downloaded from a studio site or was included on the disc itself.  While it seems like a good idea,  it doesn’t work so well for me.  For example, a Warner Digital Copy is different than a Disney Digital file.  Each studio has a different sign up process.  Some studios ask for personal information, others don’t.  Some studios store files on a user’s desktop, others store it in a specific file directory.   Even packaging varies from studio to studio – customers really don’t know what they are getting or why.  All customers know is that sometimes they pay more, sometimes the same.   Put your customer hat on for a moment – does this sound like something worth spending time to figure out?

But hooray, Disney has Digital Copy as well, and maybe they can help sort this out.  I looked at their Disney Online Movie website, and I learned about Magic Codes (I’m not kidding).  Check this out (but remember, try to keep my Mom in mind):

How is [DisneyFile Digital Copy] different from a Digital Copy?

With DisneyFile Digital Copy, you receive a standard definition digital version of the movie in iTunes or Windows Media as well as the ability to stream the movie on Disney Movies Online. The DisneyFile Digital Copy is inside your Disney Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack on the disc labeled “Digital Copy”. DisneyFile Digital Copy is a fast and easy way to enjoy your favorite Disney movies, anytime, anywhere on your PC, Mac, or compatible portable device. Disney fans can watch their DVD or Blu-ray in the living room and enhance their mobile life style by bringing a DisneyFile Digital Copy of their movie on the go!

DisneyFile Digital Copy is accessible on Disney Movies Online using the Magic Code found in your Disney Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack. Once you have entered the code you can access your movie on Disney Movies Online from any internet connected computer that meets our system requirements without using storage space on your hard drive.

At this time, select Disney movies are available with a Digital Copy. For more information, please visit DisneyFile Digital Copy

Currently, movies purchased on our site are unable to be transferred to iTunes, Windows Media Player, or any other portable device.

Huh?

Come back later this week – I’ll talk more about other crazy examples in entertainment that are not so Mom-friendly. I’ll also share some cautionary thoughts on why the entertainment and technology industry is making this so annoyingly complicated.

In the meantime, what other silly things has the entertainment industry done in recent years to confuse you?

Comments on: "You’re ignoring Mom" (5)

  1. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

    Like

  2. You're ignoring Mom « Digital Fool…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

    Like

  3. I am developing a blog and and i want to change the theme.I got some ideas from here! You could visit my website and tell me your opinion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Savvy

Sleek, Smart, and About the PR/Media World Today

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media