Today’s Digital Fool is a bit of a revelation, and I blame it on the crazy news lately about the high profile travails of Julian Assange and his WikiLeaks.  Let’s not focus on his problems in the UK; rather, let’s recognize the incredible tenacity this guy has in relentlessly pursuing his mission of setting all information free.  While I definitely don’t agree with setting ALL information free – such as those documents that can get an undercover operative killed in the field – I appreciate and commend his efforts at bringing more transparency to this world.

Random thought triggers

Which brings me to my inspiration for today.  You see, I inadvertently combined the WikiLeaks saga with news about yet another consortium releasing new standards in the marketplace to inspire me to set information free.  Let me explain.

DDEX, the Digital Data Exchange, made up Sony, The Orchard, Warner Music Group, Universal and Apple to name a few, announced that it had released “a set of standards for XML messages for the business-to-business communication of information between organizations operating in the digital content supply chain.”

Huh?  So there are 18 companies trying to revive the music business, um, through standards? I guess that’s what they’re trying to do.

Sounds familiar

Wait a minute – this sounds an awful lot like what Keychest was trying to do and what Ultraviolet is currently trying to do.  I had a hunch, did some more digging, and I discovered I really am a Fool. Despite the fact I’ve written about UV before and have been interested in watching its progress, I now realize that my company is part of the Ultraviolet consortium.  And now, the Assange in me thinks the right time to bring light to what the entertainment and technology industry is up to.

While I’m not going to go so far and post actual documents, I’ll be dedicating the upcoming posts to insights and concerns .

Comments on: "Information wants to be free" (6)

  1. aninterestedignorant said:

    Love the reference to Assanage!

    It would be interesting to see how the industry plans to attract buyers once more.

    Its feels like the industry is having difficulty remaining one step ahead of the market.

    Who remembers mini-disk players?

    Too little too late.

    I’m curious to see the innovative ways of selling music that the industry has come up with…

    I’m even more interested in seeing if they come up with them IN TIME. Things such as the mini-disk player became a thing of the past so quickly it will be amusing to see if they repeat the same mistakes.

    Like

    • Totally agree with your comment of IN TIME. The problem is – technology changes so quickly, and the ironically conservative entertainment business is just too damn slow to react. That’s why there are so many up-starts going after this space: where there’s chaos, there’s tons of opportunity. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. Very Nice website. I built mine and i was looking for some ideas and your website gave me some. Did you develop the website alone?

    Cheers

    Like

  3. I have developed a blog and and i want to change the theme.Yours looks pretty decent! You could visit my website and tell me your opinion!

    Like

  4. […] – The Documentary Notizblog: Substanz und Inszenierung RWW: Wikileaks Timeline Digital Fool: Information wants to be free RWW: Wikileaks on The Pirate Bay: The facts and the figures RWW: The weakest link: What Wikileaks […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Savvy

Sleek, Smart, and About the PR/Media World Today

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

